Summary of Minutes PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE April 30, 2024 5:30 p.m.

Chairman Long called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Dave Long (Chair), Howard Maffucci (Vice Chair), William

Burgess, Susan Hughes-Smith, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons, Santos Cruz, Paul Dondorfer (RMM), Robert Colby, Tracy DiFlorio*, Richard B. Milne, Jackie Smith, Yversha Roman

(Ex-Officio)

(Note: *Legislator DiFlorio Participated in the Meeting Via

Videoconferencing.)

OTHER LEGISLATORS PRESENT: Steve Brew, Blake Keller, Sean McCabe, Frank Ciardi, Rachel

Barnhart, Albert Blankley, Ricky Frazier, John B. Baynes,

Lystra Bartholomew McCoy, Linda Hasman

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Jeff McCann (Deputy County Executive), Anthony

Plonczynski-Figueroa (Assistant County Executive), Adrienne Green (Legislative Liaison), Robert Franklin (CFO), John Bringewatt (County Attorney), Laura Smith (Chief Deputy County Attorney), Richard Tantalo (Public Safety Director), Tim Henry (Public Safety Deputy Director), Jennifer Curley (Sheriff's Admin), Kathy Carelock (DHS), Sean Murphy (DES), Julie Cianca (Public Defender), Kristine Durante (Probation Admin), Mark Funk (Assigned Counsel), Ana Liss

(Planning Director), Sarah Holt (Conflict Defender)

<u>PUBLIC FORUM</u>: There was one speaker. Public Forum ended at 5:33 P.M.

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>: The minutes of March 26, 2024 were approved as submitted.

NEW BUSINESS:

24-0130 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services for the Motor Vehicle Theft and Insurance Fraud Prevention Program (Office of the

Sheriff) - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, SECONDED by Legislator Vazquez Simmons.

ADOPTED: 11-0

24-0131 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

for the Motor Vehicle Theft and Insurance Fraud Prosecution Program (District

Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

for the Motor Vehicle Theft and Insurance Fraud Prosecution Program (District

Attorney's Office) - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, SECONDED by Legislator Vazquez Simmons.

ADOPTED: 11-0

24-0132 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services for Criminal Justice Discovery Reform Funding for the District Attorney's Office and the Department of Public Safety, Office of Probation and Community Corrections - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons. <u>ADOPTED</u>: 11-0

24-0135 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services for the Operation Stonegarden Program and Authorize Intermunicipal Agreements with the Towns of Greece, Irondequoit, and Webster - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Burgess.

<u>ADOPTED</u>: 8-3 (Legislators Cruz, Hughes-Smith and Vazquez Simmons Voted in the Negative.)

24-0136 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services for the Offices of the Public Defender, the Conflict Defender and the Assigned Counsel Program for the 2nd Statewide Expansion of the Hurrell-Harring Program - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons. ADOPTED: 11-0

OTHER MATTERS:

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no other matters, Chairman Long adjourned the meeting at 5:44 p.m.

The next Public Safety Meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 21, 2024 at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, David Grant Clerk of the Legislature